2017 WildGoose Records

I AM THE SONG: Children’s Poems by Charles Causley

2017 was the centenary of Charles Causley and as part of their Causley 100 celebrations, the Charles Causley Trust commissioned Jim to come up with a new project for the centenary year.

Jim was given a residency in Charles’ cottage ‘Cyprus Well’ for a week in September in which he composed these new settings of a small selection of Charles poems for children. But unlike the Cyprus Well album, Jim decided to record this one in a proper studio as all the guest musicians required would never fit into Charles’ tiny front room!

Many of the poems name-check a host of musical instruments and so Jim attempted to include as many of them on this album as he could! Guest musicians include Nick Wyke & Becki Driscoll, Keith Kendrick & Sylvia Needham, Mary Humphries & Anahata, Jeff Gillett, Matt Norman, Mick Ryan, Piers Butler and Pete Bullock.

The CD includes a free pull-out poster with illustrations of all the characters from the poems by Falmouth artist Bex Bourne.


Share this...


  1. Python on Piccolo
  2. Newlyn Buildings
  3. I Don’t Want to Grumble
  4. Here We Go Round the Roundhouse
  5. At Linkinhorne
  6. The Money Came In
  7. Lady Jane Grey
  8. Mrs McPhee
  9. Perranporth Pet-Shop
  10. Good Morning Mr Croco-Doco-Dile
  11. One For The Man
  12. Colonel Fazackerley
  13. Lord Lovelace
  14. Tabitha Tupper
  15. As I Went Down Zig-Zag
  16. I Saw a Jolly Hunter
  17. A Mermaid at Zennor
  18. John Tidy
  19. I Took My Wife to Market
  20. The Obby Oss
  21. I Am The Song