I AM THE SONG: Children’s Poems by Charles Causley

I Am The Song

I AM THE SONG: Children’s Poems by Charles Causley

2017 WildGoose Records

2017 was the centenary of Charles Causley and as part of their Causley 100 celebrations, the Charles Causley Trust commissioned Jim to come up with a new project for the centenary year.

Jim was given a residency in Charles’ cottage ‘Cyprus Well’ for a week in September in which he composed these new settings of a small selection of Charles poems for children. But unlike the Cyprus Well album, Jim decided to record this one in a proper studio as all the guest musicians required would never fit into Charles’ tiny front room!

Many of the poems name-check a host of musical instruments and so Jim attempted to include as many of them on this album as he could! Guest musicians include Nick Wyke & Becki Driscoll, Keith Kendrick & Sylvia Needham, Mary Humphries & Anahata, Jeff Gillett, Matt Norman, Mick Ryan, Piers Butler and Pete Bullock.

The CD includes a free pull-out poster with illustrations of all the characters from the poems by Falmouth artist Bex Bourne.

Track listing

  1. Python on Piccolo
  2. Newlyn Buildings
  3. I Don't Want to Grumble
  4. Here We Go Round the Roundhouse
  5. At Linkinhorne
  6. The Money Came In
  7. Lady Jane Grey
  8. Mrs McPhee
  9. Perranporth Pet-Shop
  10. Good Morning Mr Croco-Doco-Dile
  11. One For The Man
  12. Colonel Fazackerley
  13. Lord Lovelace
  14. Tabitha Tupper
  15. As I Went Down Zig-Zag
  16. I Saw a Jolly Hunter
  17. A Mermaid at Zennor
  18. John Tidy
  19. I Took My Wife to Market
  20. The Obby Oss
  21. I Am The Song